Martin Margala Awarded Fulbright chair at FEE CTU

Professor Martin Margala has been awarded the Fulbright-CTU Distinguished Chair position at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Czech Technical University. His 1-year fellowship will start September 1, 2015.

Martin Margala is currently the Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Massachusetts Lowell. His research interests are within Digital & Mixed-Signal VLSI Design & VLSI Testing.

At the FEE CTU he will perform research to develop a novel monitoring method for tracking the behavior of power management circuits in real-time. This is a hot topic, because power management is a weak point of the ultrafast processors of the future. He will also teach one core undergraduate course and one technical elective, advanced course, targeting seniors and graduate students each semester. Besides that he plans to conduct other important activities, such as

  • Reviewing teaching methods and styles in courses where the instruction is conducted in English,
  • Participating as an academic research advisor on PhD committees
  • Designing a workshop on academic writing
  • Advising on the design of new strategies for the International Office at the FEE CTU

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program, sponsored by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the United States Department of State. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 300,000 participants—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. 8 000 outgoing and incoming fellowships are awarded annually. The Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program sends approximately 800 American scholars and professionals per year to 130 countries. Awards in the Fulbright Distinguished Chairs Program are the most prestigious appointments in the Fulbright Scholar Program, which are given only to approximately 40 eminent scholars. Four of them are in the Czech Republic: at the Charles university, the Masaryk University, the Palacky University and the Czech Technical University. Fulbright program in the Czech Republic is jointly sponsored by the U.S. and Czech Governments. Fulbright Distinguished chair awards are also sponsored by the host institution.

We wish Martin Margala a pleasant stay in Prague !

Responsible person: